Monarto Safari Park and Adelaide Zoo are now open and you must book a ticket prior to your visit. Following SA Health directions, face masks are now mandatory at all times while visiting. Read More

David Sanders

Board member

David is a partner in the Adelaide assurance practice of Ernst & Young and is a qualified chartered accountant
and registered company auditor. David is a life member and his family have been members of the zoo for many years.


Julieann Riedstra


Julieann has had a long career in the public sector in South Australia and most recently was the Deputy Chief Executive and Chief Operating Officer of the Department for Education. Julieann is a Fellow of Certified Practicing Accountants (CPA) Australia and a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD). Julieann has been a member for many years and became a Life Member in 2008.


Kate Thiele

Board Member

Kate is the Founding Director of Klarity and has more than 10 years of board and executive experience. Her experience in the not-for-profit sector and governance brings valuable skills to the board.


Kate Hartwig

Board Secretary/Public Officer

Kate has had a long career in not-for-profit organisations, having been CEO of a range of industry, professional
and charitable organisations in Adelaide, Sydney and Melbourne. She was appointed as the Zoos SA Board Secretary and Public Officer in 2013.

Kate is a Life Member and a Volunteer at Monarto Safari Park.

Kate Hartwig

Dennis Mutton JP

Vice President

Dennis is an independent consultant in the fields of natural resource management, primary industries, regional growth initiatives and leadership development. He is a fellow of the AICD and holds a range of board directorships in government, business and not-for-profit organisations.


Rod Buchecker

Board member

Rod is Chair of TEC 30 for The Executive Connection, the world’s largest CEO network. He is a recognised executive mentor and business coach, specialising in leadership development and helping companies find the focus they need
to succeed.

Rod Buchecker

Susie Robinson

Board Member

Susie is the Executive Director of the Australian Plant Phenomics Facility, one of Australia’s nationally designated
research infrastructures. She has worked in government and university sectors in the UK and Australia, and has significant corporate governance experience. Trained in the sciences and business management, she holds a PhD from Cambridge University.

Bill Spurr AO

Board Member

Bill has had an extensive career in the tourism, hospitality and event industries in South Australia. Bill was the former Chief Executive Officer of SA Tourism Commission and currently chairs the Board of Adelaide Venue Management Corporation.

Kristofer Helgen

Board Member

Kris is an expert in mammalian evolution and conservation and serves as the Chief Scientist of the Australian Museum in Sydney. Kris was also the curator in charge of mammals at the Smithsonian from 2008 to 2017.

Peter McCarthy

Board Member

Peter is a retired Clinical Biochemist. He and his colleague, Brian Rich, set up the laboratory in the Animal Health & Research Centre in late 1999.

Both were honoured by the then Board as Honorary Research Associates in 2003 for their contribution to the Zoo in providing a service to the Veterinary staff as an aid to diagnosis & treatment of our animals and for their research work. In 2019 Peter was part of the six person team who won “The Unsung Hero” Award of South Australian Science.

Peter’s interests lie in expanding the service that they currently offer and encouraging a greater commitment to research.

Today’s Teddy Bears Picnic saw Wang Wang and Fu Ni have some pawsome fun for their birthdays. Thanks to…

Sign up to our newsletter
Be the first to hear about zoo news, weekly Facebook Live videos and fresh animal content

About Zoos SA

Zoos SA is a not-for-profit conservation charity that exists to connect people with nature and save species from extinction. Zoos SA acknowledges the Country on which we stand always was, and always will be, Aboriginal land and we pay our deepest respect and gratitude to Kaurna (Adelaide Zoo) and Ngarrindjeri (Monarto Safari Park) Elders, past, present and emerging. We undertake critical conservation work throughout Australia and acknowledge the traditional custodians of these lands.

Sign Up to Our Newsletter

Stay up to date with zoo news and sign up to our Zoo Times eNewsletter